Tuesday, November 26, 2019

A Cousin's Promise Book Review

I picked this up at the library when I was looking for some new books to read.  A Cousin's Promise (Indiana Cousins) by Wanda E. Brunstetter was on the shelf with others by the author and it said that it was the first in the series so I thought it would be good to start a new series.  The bad part is that I looked up the other books in the series and I couldn't find them in the library so I am going to have to search again.  They changed the catalog and it all looks different so I am hoping that I just missed it.

Willkumm to the lush and lavish Amish country where Wanda Brunstetter’s romantic series, Indiana Cousins, begins.  When a group of eight cousins and friends leaves their Indiana Amish community for a weekend getaway, a horrific accident brings them home forever changed.
Permanently disabled by the accident, Wayne Lambright struggles to take care of himself. He can’t imagine being able to be the kind of husband his fiancée, Loraine Miller, needs. Determined to sacrifice his happiness to give her a better life, he breaks their engagement.  Loraine refuses to believe Wayne doesn’t love her anymore. But when old boyfriend Jake Beechy returns from exploring the English world, Wayne does everything in his power to help Jake regain Loraine’s love.
For better or worse, Loraine wants to be Wayne’s wife, but if he won’t agree, should she promise her love to Jake? Torn between the love of two good men—which man will she pledge her love and loyalty—for better or worse, until death they do part?  Love is a promisefor better or worse.

The Indiana Cousins Series
Book 1: A Cousin's Promisse
Book 2: A Cousin's Prayer
Book 3: A Cousin's Challenge

This book starts off right into the action with a trip to Hershey Park gone wrong with a car crash that kills three people and injuries many more.  The worst thing is that it has changed everyone's lives with the changes to everyone's lives.  Loraine thought that she was going to be married in a month and starting her new life with Wayne but after the accident everything changes.  Wayne decides that loosing his leg made him less of a man and meant that he couldn't make a life for his future wife.  Wayne pushed Loraine away and broke her heart.  Loraine wants to keep her promise to Wayne and tries to make things easier for him even though her mother and his mother are against their continued relationship.  It is heartbreaking that Loraine had to go through so much and felt the weight of the decision to go to the park which changed everyone's lives.  The book has lots of things going on but you have to pick it up to find out what happens.  I hope that you check out this book and enjoy it as much as I did.  I hope that you get to check out the rest of the series and fingers crossed that I will be able to!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for visiting my blog today! I really appreciate any input or ideas so add your comment below.